I never loved you enough, have I?

I never loved you enough, have I?

I never loved you enough, have I?
Or maybe I just realized what it’s like
to have the freedom I have always wanted.
Or maybe this is what it’s like
to not have someone around
someone like you.
Or maybe this is what it’s like to want
to go out so bad and not have somebody to be with
somebody like you —

YOU
who stood by me.
who understood the seasons of my mood.
who tried to laugh at my jokes.
who cursed the world with me.
who heard my qualms against fate.
who endured the backlashes of my hate.
who have given a lot.
whom I had to give up.

Such perfection does not exist.
For as perfect as imperfection is
We don’t sit together in that one picture
And you should know that it hurts
to be compelled to accept this
even when I have been given what
I wanted (you; I used to want you)
The freedom that costed me missing
You (I have always loved you)
Or maybe this is exactly what it’s like to realize
That I never loved you enough.

Leave a Reply

