The Lady in Red

The Lady in Red

For the night was dark
And your kind of red
Impeded my lust for oblivion
Not to overpower
The redness of your lips
Or the redness of your silhouette
Or the redness of your being
Or your redness
Inside and out

For the night was dark
And your kind of red
Make me red down under
Not the same way I often do
The way I would look at you
Or the way I would watch you
Or the way I would see you
Or the way you look
Then and now

For the night was dark
And your kind of red
Destroys each drop of my patience
Not like the tide ran dry
Drive me insane with that red
That red of the still day
That red of the slow night
That red of time passing
Quick and slow

For the night was dark
And your kind of red
Draw jealousy on my veins
Not with anger nor rage
Still, still me; I proclaim
That I love your every inch
Your every pain
Your every sorrow
Your every scar, beloved

More than he who would steal
Your heart
Your curves
Each fiber of you
No one will love you
Like I do
For the night was dark
And your kind of red
Is my sanctuary

Leave a Reply

