Quarterback/Striker

Quarterback/Striker

The field was quieter than I thought.
Apart from the moments lost; Glory
Gazed upon me like an old friend.
For a moment, the wilderness ate me up.
I watched the dark clouds cave the sky.
Heads up; I have one last shot before
I lose my mind. I kept practicing how
To emerge victorious like I always have.
The wind blew and whispered sofly: “run”
On my feet; a few big steps and kick.
I watched the ball defy gravity and fly.
I didn’t even notice its wings flutter.
Until it burned to ashes and it was
Blown away. There I stood. Dream’s over.
It’s about time to face the real enemy.

Leave a Reply

