The next time I reach for your lips

The next time I reach for your lips

The night can’t hold me. Not even the dim light of the jeepney, the damp pavement, the orange sky nor the crowd could succeed holding me back from nearing my face to yours. You’re inches away but maybe a sudden press on the break pedal could make everything lose balance and my lips fall right where it should have been minutes ago. But the next time I reach for your dry lips, I’ll be braver to not look at you with worried eyes. I wouldn’t even stray them away for fear of the now that is openly creeping slow and haunting my very being. I would look at you and feel secured enough that when the jeeps arrive at my stop, I won’t hesitate to bid you goodbye with a guaranteed smile; a smile that says “we’ll have tomorrow and the days to come.”

Leave a Reply

