Fireman’s carry

Fireman’s carry

You held me up there
and I tried not to breathe
or perhaps I did not forget
breathing because life
compelled me to. Love
dragged me as I was
succumbed to your whim.
My mind kept bugging
me; telling me something
is wrong when my feet
left the floor and I gasped.
There I started holding my
breath and everything
turned upside down and
the world blurred as ever.

Remember how I always
kept myself on the ground
when you charge in to lift me
up? I choose to stay here.
Down here. Here I stand.
Here is where I want to be.
Loving you need not seek
higher stakes and greater
risks for it shall come as it
should. I anticipate it coming
but we don’t need to reel
it in. If loving you means
having to be lifted up as the
world blurs and turns– fine.
Carry me; take me.

Granted; I may not see your
face, your eyes, your hair
but knowing you hold me
close and tight to your body’s
enough to tell me you love
me. But as we go along,
don’t ever let me go. Don’t.
even think it. Hold me closer,
tighter as we tread farther
and I will fight harder; braver.
This will I be for the sweet
sacrifice I chose to commence.
I guess I love you this much.
So much I’d give up loving you
from down here to your shoulder.

Leave a Reply

