Sunday Obligation

Sunday Obligation

I go to mass to meet God.
Right at the very same hour that I vowed
I showed up and He kept talking.

I go to mass to meet God.
When I’m quite sure that my mind
was somewhere else I can hardly point.

I go to mass to meet God.
And someone else was on my head.
But I still showed up and He kept talking.

I went to mass to meet God.
And He talked of true love and “someday”
I tried to listen while He kept talking.

I went to mass to meet God.
But I felt that I was absent today, of all days
That I need my God the most like every single day.

I went to mass to meet God.
Even when I was thinking of him who was.
Christ, forgive me, for I know that You will always be.

(Christ forgive me, for desiring what’s less better for me).

Leave a Reply

