Maybe the sky was being kind to me after all

Maybe the sky was being kind to me after all

Maybe the sky was being kind to me after all.
Maybe it chose to weep in my place.
Maybe it saw the revolving chaos
In my head and felt remorse in my behalf.
Maybe it couldn’t bear to see me cry.
Maybe it felt how I felt when the world
Shattered my spine and devoured me.
Maybe it feared to see me eaten by
Every little creeping darkness around me.
Maybe it merely wanted to cradle me
With the cold taking over my body.
Maybe it wanted to blow all my fears
Far away. Maybe– Just maybe.
And while hundreds die, maybe
The sky was just being kind to me
While I take the blame for the countless
Deaths that this time I’m quite sure of–
I’m sure that should’ve been mine.

Leave a Reply

